It’s Monday and Bout of Books update

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

 

Currently(-ish…)

It’s nearly 2pm on Monday, the baby is napping (hooray! you don’t know how hard that has been the past few days!), I just read Wee Reader two picture books including his recent favourites The Thingamabob by Il Sung Na (very cute story about an elephant finding an umbrella) and The Rollercoaster Kid by Mary Ann Rodman and Roger Roth (a sweet and sad story about a boy’s relationship with his grandparents) and hopefully he will nap in a bit. The grandparents are also napping!

So it’s quiet for now. Just me. And er, Veronica Mars (I’m half-watching while typing this).

(edited to add: of course just as I finish this, someone starts crying…)

Reading:

BoB10-200x200

 

So I wrote about my goals and pool of books yesterday, but forgot to mention the book I was already reading, Fangirl. I’m trying to finish it by today. I’m about 300-odd pages in! So that means I’ve read about 100 pages since this morning! So that’s not too bad for half a day here. I’ll have to put in more effort later when the kids are in bed!

 

 

 

 

fangirl

Fangirl – Rainbow Rowell

silencefriendsThe silence of our friends – Mark Long & Jim Demonakos ; art by Nate Powell

behindbeautifulforevers

Behind the Beautiful Forevers – Katherine Boo

It’s a bit harder to read this one as it’s an Overdrive book that I’m reading on my Nexus – in other words, kind of glaring and eye-straining. And it is a difficult read, the lives, the struggles just trying to get by. Sigh.

Eating:

Had a mushroom and tomato omelette for lunch, with some lavash bread.

Drinking:

Just water for now. It’s a hot day for NorCal!

Cooking: 

Tonight, Hainanese chicken rice, using a spice paste (just throw it into your rice cooker with the rice!). Steam some chicken. And stirfry some baby bok choy. An easy dinner.

Watching:

I’m still rewatching Veronica Mars!

By the way, if you’re interesting in reading Ruth Reichl’s Delicious!, I’ve got one to give away here!

Last week…

I read:
Heads in beds: a reckless memoir of hotels, hustles, and so-called hospitality – Jacob Tomsky
A fun behind-the-scenes look at the hotel industry. Furniture polish on the drinking glasses? Key bombs? Fascinating.
morningglories3mg4
Morning Glories Volumes 3 and 4 – Nick Spencer et al
This just gets more and more bizarre. Intriguingly so, but still, very bizarre.

I posted:

Fallout – Sadie Jones

Wednesday Links and a cup of tea

Bout of Books 10

 

 

 

 

 

What are you reading this week?

 

6 comments

  1. Denise

    The trials of babies… enjoy the quietness of naps. I remember that well. Wish there’d been blogging in my day to encourage me to read more.

  2. Lindsey

    I hope you have a great Bout of Books! I can’t wait to see what you think of Fangirl and Behind the Beautiful Forevers.

  3. Vasilly

    It sounds like you’re enjoying yourself so far. The Silence of Our Friends is a book that I need to pick up soon. Have a great day.