It’s Monday and I’m reading The Scarecrow and his Servant

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

 

Currently(-ish…)

I’m writing this on Sunday afternoon, just after 2. The kids are napping (or at least they are supposed to) and I’m at the kitchen table. It’s a sunny day but slightly cooler than the past few really hot days we’ve had here in Northern California.

Reading:

The Scarecrow and his Servant – Philip Pullman

scarecrow

I’m having fun with this silly book. A bolt of lightning strikes a scarecrow and it comes to life! He takes on a boy as his servant and they have grand (and silly) adventures together.

 

sonsofheaven

The Sons of Heaven – Kage Baker

A rather complex story. Lots of things happening and sometimes I’m a bit confused by the very many characters. It’s all building up to something huge though so I can’t wait!

behindbeautifulforevers

Behind the Beautiful Forevers – Katherine Boo

I’m supposed to try to read more non-fiction this year. Haven’t done that much so far!

Eating:

20140504-142724.jpg

We went to our favourite Japanese restaurant for lunch and I had a decadent seafood rice porridge which had uni, shrimp, crabs and fish cake. So good. But also so rich I could only eat half of it!

Drinking:

Just water for now. But I’ve had two black teas with milk and some green tea since this morning!

Cooking: 

Sunday dinner is going to be full of leftovers. We had Indian/Pakistani food yesterday and there’s lots of naan left as well as some fantastic chicken korma, saag dal and mixed vegetable curry. The mutton curry was so good it was all eaten up, as was the tandoori fish. Yum. So there’s that for dinner, along with my seafood porridge.

Watching:

I’m rewatching Veronica Mars! And enjoying every second of it!

Listening:

Abba! Wee Reader has discovered a love for the Abba song ‘Honey Honey’. Mostly because I started singing it when pouring honey over his yoghurt the other day, so he always asks for it to be played. It’s stuck in my head now.

 

What are you reading this week?

 

2 comments