It’s Monday and I’m reading Kage Baker

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

I took part in my first 24-hour Readathon over the weekend! It was tough trying to fit reading (and updating and checking out others’ updates) into a typical Saturday (two kids, husband working from home), but I did what I could. I ended up reading two graphic novels, finished one novel, and finished the last fifth of another. Plus we went out for sushi at lunchtime which always makes for an excellent day.

 

Currently(-ish…)

I’m writing this on Sunday night, it’s 930pm and the husband is still working. So I’m kind of half watching House while typing this post.

Reading:

sonsofheaven

The Sons of Heaven – Kage Baker

Took me a bit to remember where things were in the story (it’s the 8th book in the Company series), but I am very absorbed in it right now.

golemjinni

The Golem and the Jinni – Helene Wecker

Just started on it.

johnnyhiro

Johnny Hiro: Half Asian, All Hero – Fred Chao

Fun!

Eating:

Nothing now, but had some fried rice, tofu with mushrooms and vegetables, and sweet and sour pork for dinner.

Drinking:

Water

Cooking: 

The plan for dinner on Monday is some rice noodles stir fried with beef and broccoli.

Watching:

House MD. Hugh Laurie is such a great reason to rematch it. :P

 

Last week I read:

20140426-151105.jpg Morning Glories Vol 1 and 2 – Nick Spencer

I love when a book surprises me. From this cover I expected a story about some kind of prep school. It turned out to be a bit more than that. In that kind of weird way I love. I’ve requested for the next volumes!

huntress

Huntress – Malinda Lo

It took me a while to get into this story but it was quite enjoyable. It had strong female characters, which is always a plus. But the switching POV was a bit distracting.

fairygodmother

The Fairy Godmother – Mercedes Lackey 

Was this a long story or what? It starts off sounding like a Cinderella retelling but it’s about fairy godmother-ing, as Elena learns to become one. It drags a bit in the middle as she figures out her fairy godmother duties. But then picks up with Alexander’s appearance. A bit too much emphasis on the Tradition and how it manipulates everything though!

What are you reading this week?

3 comments

  1. Denise

    Well done with the readathon. I read your account and thought it was amazing you did that with two little ones. I’d be doing well if I managed to get through the day with a clean house and fed kids when they were that age.