The baby’s napping and the boy is….

In the guest room being entertained by the grandparents. He had a busy morning at the open gym session where he was in the bouncy house and slide non-stop. It was $5 well spent.

Then we were off to the diner next door, where breakfast is an all-day affair and so we shared pancakes, eggs and some sad limp bacon (crispy is the only way to go!).

Right now, beef stew is in the slow cooker filling the house with all kinds of wonderful smells (I’ve added some bay leaves, star anise, a tiny piece of cinnamon bark, some all-spice and cayenne pepper, plus some L&P sauce and soya sauce – not your typical recipe but I’m about experimenting).

I should be reading but I’m sitting at the computer syncing my phone anyway so figured I might as well stop into wordpress and type out a quick hello to all of you, and hope your week goes well!

I am currently enjoying Consider the Fork: how technology transforms the way we cook and eat, which I would recommend to anyone who enjoys spending time in the kitchen. It made me see my KitchenAid mixer in a different light yesterday as I turned it on and let it whisk egg whites into an airy dream.

And just last night I finished reading A Rogue by Any Other Name by Sarah MacLean, the first book in her Rules of Scoundrels series. Now I’m not much of a romance reader. And in fact would usually turn up my flat nose at anything that has the faintest whiff of ‘romance’, you know, like bulging biceps, ripped bodices, long manes, heaving bosoms and that sort. But I remember reading some good reviews about MacLean’s series (here’s one), and was curious. And it was in a way, oddly satisfying. It was at times sweet, at others, well, dirty. Sure I got irritated by the whole “I want you but I really shouldn’t want you” thing but on the whole, it was rather entertaining. And the second book sounds like it might be even better – a bespectacled, intellectual heroine!

On the TV front (or Netflix front), I’ve been watching the Carrie Diaries. I’m many years past the targeted age group (Carrie Bradshaw is a high schooler!) but it’s been some fun frivolous viewing so far. The things she gets up to as a teenager! Her seemingly normal dad! Her multiethnic friends, where did they all go when she grew up?

And oh it’s nearly Christmas isn’t it? Well our Christmas tree is finally up. The presents are waiting to be wrapped. Waiting because it turns out I have no more sticky tape. The cookies are still in the form of flour, eggs, sugar and butter. And I reckon that my baking goals are far too ambitious this year but we will see how it goes! It isn’t the holiday season till the house smells of cookies! Yesterday it smelled of a mocha cake with coffee buttercream icing but that’s a different, albeit tantalizing, smell all together. The Christmas music has been playing thanks to the husband and his fondness for carols (although every time I am driving I make sure to switch away from that darn station that plays nothing but carols). So I suppose we are relatively ready for the season. I hope yours is going well too.

20131216-150155.jpg

20131216-150202.jpg

5 comments

  1. Linda

    I’ve been reading romances too. Some of them are good. I used to turn up nose at them too.
    I liked Consider The Fork. It made think about my everyday appliances too

  2. Claire (The Captive Reader)

    I’ve only started reading romance novels in the past few years and am still trying to feel my way through the genre. I’ve discovered I don’t like Sarah MacLean’s books, despite the almost universal praise from romance readers, but, in terms of Regency romances, really enjoy Mary Balogh and Tessa Dare (and, to some extent, Julia Quinn) . I’m really fond of some of the contemporary authors, like Kristan Higgins and Susan Elizabeth Phillips.

    For the first time in years, I am not done all of my Christmas shopping. This is unheard of. But our tree is up and our baking is well under way (we’re about 250 cookies into the 500 we usually bake – most of them are about an inch in diameter so that sounds like more work than it is) so the important things are in place. Enjoy the rest of your holiday preparations!

    • olduvai

      Whatever size the cookies are, 500 is a lot! I made about 80 a few days ago and I’m bushed! Maybe it was due to having to keep an eye on Wee Reader as he “helped” out. Haha!

      Meanwhile thanks for the romance recommendations! I will have to check those authors out.

      Happy holidays!

    • olduvai

      Hee. Thanks for the compliment! I used to have a food blog actually, before I started to focus on books. But I think I am equally fond of both food and books!