Summer Lovin’ Read-a-thon Day 3: Look at me, I’m Sandra Dee

Pages read yesterday (Day 2 of the readathon):

Physical book pages: 17 (argh!) Mostly from The Whole Fromage

E-pages: the Kindle tells me I’m now at 51% of Gone Girl, up from 31% as of yesterday morning

I’m just 50 minutes away (how odd to think of my reading in hours and minutes but that’s technology for you) from finishing Tiny Beautiful Things and my library e-copy will vanish from my Kindle tomorrow but this is not a book to be rushed. So instead of reading it through I’ve been dipping into this and Mark Kurlanksy’s Cod (also to vanish tomorrow!) and Gone Girl. I think I read more e-books than physical books these days. Who would’ve thought?

And today’s read-a-thon challenge question is

  • Introduce us to your favorite fictional female – What does she look like? Is there an actress that you think of when you think of the character? Is she tough or timid? You could do a mock interview with your character, or create a bio/resume for her.

When I saw this question, the first female character that popped into my head was Lyra Belacqua of Phillip Pullman’s His Dark Materials series. This is one of my favourite trilogies but I don’t exactly like Lyra. She is a bit of a brat, to be honest! But she is tough and strong-willed and really is a sweet intelligent girl at heart who perhaps just hasn’t been raised all that well (she’s pretty much been allowed to run wild in Oxford). I don’t know much about child actors so I’m going to pass on naming one to play her (here I am purposefully ignoring that travesty of a movie adaptation in 2007).

speakingfrombones

Then another young female character popped into mind – Flavia de Luce of Alan Bradley’s crime/mystery series is another great female character, an amateur sleuth and brilliant at chemistry, fearless, headstrong and full of enthusiasm for life (and solving the murders that happen to pop up in her little English village).

So as I marveled at how both these are young girls written by male authors, I thought of what is perhaps one of my favourite books, Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. And the character of Elizabeth Bennett whom I got to know so well during my junior college days (equivalent to the last two years of high school) in Singapore where a 17-year-old me studied this book, my first introduction to Jane Austen, as one of my A Level literature texts*.

I didn’t exactly love the book then (too much analysis perhaps) but Jane Austen and her stories have become fond favourites since.

20130703-062901.jpg

For me, the actress to play Elizabeth Bennett will always be Jennifer Ehle of the classic mini series!

Who is your favourite female character?

 

 

6 comments

  1. buriedinprint

    I was torn between Anne of Green Gables and Emily of New Moon both from L.M. Montgomery’s children’s books of the same names; I chose Anne because I’ve “known” her longer, but I think I’d’ve been more fond of Emily if we’d “met” first. I haven’t “met” Flavia yet but I’m looking forward to it.

    Like