Summer Lovin Readathon Day 1: Class orientation

So here it is!
The start of my first readathon!

Today’s discussion topic is “Class Orientation”, so hi!

My name is Sharlene and I’m blogging from the Bay Area in Northern California where I’ve lived for the past, oh, four years or so.

I’m originally from Singapore – it’s located around the equator so we don’t get the four seasons there, instead it’s ‘summer’ weather (ie hot hot hot and humid humid humid) all year round, with the other option being hot humid and monsoon rainy! So the idea of celebrating summer is still quite a recent thing for me!

I’m a mum to my two wonderful boys, one is nearly 2 1/2 and the other is just 2 months old.

I read a variety of books, from non-fiction to fantasy to graphic novels to literary fiction.

My goals for this readathon:

Read!!

20130701-080853.jpg

Well I’d like to start by finishing this stack of books

And I’d love to meet more book bloggers! Hello!

Challenge 1: Teaser Tidbits

  • Grab the book you’re currently reading (or recently read)
  • Open to a random page
  • Share two (2) “teaser” sentences from somewhere on that page  NO spoilers allowed! Choose passages void of spoilers. The goal is to entice, yet not ruin the book for others!

My teaser sentences are from Jane and Prudence by Barbara Pym which I recently read

“It was not a very nice book – so often Miss Trapnell or Miss Clothier asked her ‘Is that a nice book you’ve got, Miss Bates?’ – but it described a love affair in the fullest sense of the word and sparing no detail, but all in a very intellectual sort of way and there were a good many quotations from Donne. It was difficult to imagine that her love for Arthur Grampian could ever come to anything like this, and indeed she was hardly conscious of him as she read on into the small hours of the morning to the book’s inevitable but satisfying unhappy ending.”

 

2 comments

  1. buriedinprint

    I only recognize one of the books in your stack, so I’m looking forward to hearing more about the other four, because we so often enjoy the same stories! And Barbara Pym: consider me (pre)enticed, but I love the bookishness of that quote. Happy Read-a-thoning!

    Like