It’s Monday! What are you reading? (June 24 2013)

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

It was a busy weekend. First to the airport on Saturday to wave goodbye to my mum. Then to the airport on Sunday to wave hello to the in-laws. Glum wee reader one day, happy the next – especially when his grandfather brought out a new toy car…

And in other news, Wee-er Reader is two months old today! He celebrated by waking up every two hours last night – just when I thought things were improving with a good five hour stretch the night before…!

Currently…

Reading:
A letter of Mary – Laurie R King
Book three of the series. There’s some mysterious ancient artifact involved. And Russell and Holmes are on the case.

Big Brother – Lionel Shriver
I just realized that with June nearly over, I’d better finish this in order to write a review!

Listening to: Joanna Wang – The Things We Do For Love

Eating: My mother-in-law’s homemade pineapple biscuits. Buttery goodness.

Looking forward to: hearing better news about the haze in Singapore. Due to fires in neighboring Indonesia, the pollution has been pretty bad the past few days – enough to have to wear masks!

Last week I finished:
Attachments – Rainbow Rowell
Oh please please read this book! I’ll tell you why in a dedicate post but it is such a gem! I am now a Rainbow Rowell fan!

The end of your life book club – Will
Schwalbe
Another lovely lovely read. Of a very different kind. Non-fiction. Poignant. Bookish.

What are you reading today?

10 comments

  1. Rita (My Home of Books)

    I have seen Laurie R. King books all over and never read one. I will have to look at her back list of books and see if I am interested in starting her series. I’m glad you had enjoyable reads this week. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Jennifer @ The Relentless Reader

    Pineapple biscuits, yum! :D I’ve been meaning to get to Attachments ever since I fell madly in love with Eleanor & Park. I’m looking forward to your review!