It’s Monday! What are you reading (June 18 2013)

itsmonday“It’s Monday! What are you reading?” is a weekly event hosted by Sheila at Bookjourney to share with others what we’ve read the past week and planning to read next.

Ok so it’s Tuesday. But I have a good excuse!

The five of us (two wee readers, my mum, the husband and I) hopped down to Monterey and Carmel for a one-night holiday on Sunday.

It was my mum’s last weekend here with us as she’s flying back to Singapore on Saturday. She’s been here since late March, celebrating wee reader’s second birthday with us, helping out with the baby who arrived in late April and just being an awesome mum and grandmother. We could not have done it without her help and wanted to thank her (and celebrate her birthday very early) with a little trip to the Monterey Bay Aquarium.

20130618-092447.jpg

The place sure was crowded! But wee reader and grandma (wee-er reader slept through most of it) managed to check out most of the sea creatures big and small. Unfortunately it turns out that the huge sunfish, which was one of the things I remembered the most about the aquarium when I visited more than ten years ago, had to be put down in 2008.

20130618-092452.jpg

My favourite was the very cute Jellies Experience. I like how they did up the whole exhibit area, like these lights! Fun!

Anyway, so although it’s no longer Monday, I am currently…

Reading:

tinybeautiful

Tiny Beautiful Things – Cheryl Strayed
Oh I am loving this. And reading it slowly so as to make it seemingly last longer

 

endlifebookclub

The End of Your Life Book Club – Will
Also an amazing read so far. But one with a tinge of sadness.

breasts

 

Breasts: A natural and unnatural history – Florence Williams
This continues to be a fascinating and kind of terrifying read. Now I’m reading about toxins in breastmilk!

Eating: Olallieberry pie from Gizdich Ranch in Watsonville. We always stop here on the way back for some yummy pie.
English breakfast tea.

20130618-092459.jpg

(Unfortunately I didn’t take a picture so here’s one I took of a slice of strawberry rhubarb pie with fresh strawberry ice-cream – so good! I’m not a fan of strawberry ice-cream but this was yummy – that we ate at the farm itself)

Looking forward to: Picking up library books later this week!

What I read last week

mylifefrance

My life in France – Julia Child
I’ve never actually read a Julia Child cookbook or seen her cooking shows. Now I have to. She’s quite fascinating.

Words of wisdom from the book:

I don’t believe in twisting yourself into knots of excuses and explanations over the food you make. When one’s hostess starts in with self-deprecations such as “Oh, I don’t know how to cook . . . ,” or “Poor little me . . . ,” or “This may taste awful . . . ,” it is so dreadful to have to reassure her that everything is delicious and fine, whether it is or not. Besides, such admissions only draw attention to one’s shortcomings (or self-perceived shortcomings), and make the other person think, “Yes, you’re right, this really is an awful meal!” Maybe the cat has fallen into the stew, or the lettuce has frozen, or the cake has collapsed—eh bien, tant pis! Usually one’s cooking is better than one thinks it is. And if the food is truly vile, as my ersatz eggs Florentine surely were, then the cook must simply grit her teeth and bear it with a smile—and learn from her mistakes.

 

speakingfrombones

Speaking from among the bones – Alan Bradley

Flavia is always a fun read. And this time it ends with an exciting discovery that makes me want to read the next book. Very clever, Mr Bradley.

So what are you reading this week?

2 comments

  1. Lindsey

    Tiny Beautiful Things is such a great read. I borrowed it from a friend but I will be buying myself a copy so I can read it again and again.

    I enjoy the Flavia series too! I still have a few books to catch up on, though.

    Like

    • olduvai

      Flavia is such fun to read. I would recommend though that when you get to this book to make sure the next (currently yet to be published) is available. Damn cliffhangers!!

      Like