February in Translation (the 2013 edition)

So last year I set myself a personal challenge – reading translated works in the month of February. And I’m going to give it another try this year.

I had a rather random pool last year, so this time I would like to read from a variety of languages. So my pool is listed below, with each book translated from a different language. I’m not sure if this is really the right approach either, as there are plenty of books translated from European languages, but not very many translated from Asian (especially Southeast Asian) languages. But this will have to do for now. I’m sure I will add on to my list as I move along. And please feel free to let me know your recommendations, especially from languages I have yet to include!

 

Black flower – Young-ha Kim ; translated from the Korean by Charles La Shure
Sky burial : an epic love story of Tibet – Xinran ; translated from the Chinese by Julia Lovell and Esther Tyldesle
The thief – Fuminori Nakamura ; translated from the Japanese by Satoko Izumo and Stephen Coate
All that is gone – Pramoedya Ananta Toer ; translated from the Indonesian by Willem Samuels
Divorce Islamic style – Amara Lakhous ; translated from the Italian by Ann Goldstein
Dimanche and other stories – Irène Némirovsky ; translated from the French by Bridget Patterson
The year of the hare : a novel – Arto Paasilinna ; foreword by Pico Iyer ; [translated from the Finnish by Herbert Lomas]
The hottest dishes of the tartar cuisine – Alina Bronsky ; translated from the German by Tim Mohr
Stone upon stone – Wiesław Myśliwski ; translated from the Polish by Bill Johnston
The accident : a novel – Ismail Kadare ; translated from the Albanian by John Hodgson
Censoring an Iranian love story : a novel – Shahriar Mandanipour ; translated from the Farsi by Sara Khalili
Zeina – Nawal El Saadawi – translated from the Arabic by Amira Nowaira

